What Blizzard Has Said
Six races can play Mage in Forever, including two additions: High Order Skyborne on Alliance and Orc on Horde.
| Claim | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Alliance (High Order) Skyborne gain Mage; Horde (Windshaper) Skyborne gain Shaman | Meet the New Skyborne | Confirmed |
| Forever updates all specializations; talents and abilities remain a focus | Battle.net product page and panel recap | Confirmed |
| Forever has no flying mounts or level scaling | Panel recap | Confirmed |
| Orc Mage is one of six new class-and-race combinations in Blizzard's race and class tables; the Deep Dive recap adds that more are planned | Create the Hero, Deep Dive recap | Confirmed |
| A deleted first roadmap image listed two unnamed class and race combinations for Spring 2027; the current graphic does not | Roadmap graphic | Unverified report |
Blizzard's Create the Hero tables, published September 22, 2026, list six Mage races: Human, Gnome, and High Order Skyborne (Alliance); Orc, Troll, and Forsaken (Horde). Confirmed.
October 1 Beta Build Changes
The October 1 beta build renames Hot Streak to Heating Up, drops Combustion to 3 charges and removes the extra resist roll from Improved Scorch and Winter's Chill. Blizzard's October 1 beta development notes list these Mage changes. They are confirmed for the beta, not promised for launch.Source: WoW Forever Beta Development Notes, October 1, checked Oct 1, 2026. Our October 1 beta notes summary lists every class.
| Change | As of the October 1 beta build | Before | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scrolls from comprehension | Another balance pass; can no longer be cast while moving | Not stated | Confirmed |
| (Fire) | Renamed Heating Up, since it no longer depends on having a "streak"Blizzard: WoW Forever Beta Development Notes, October 1, checked Oct 1, 2026. | Hot Streak | Confirmed |
| Combustion (Fire) | 3 charges | 4 | Confirmed |
| Improved Scorch (Fire) | Fire Vulnerability does not roll a second time to resist | Not stated | Confirmed |
| Winter's Chill (Frost) | Application does not roll to be resisted, "since the original spell needed to hit"Blizzard: WoW Forever Beta Development Notes, October 1, checked Oct 1, 2026. | Not stated | Confirmed |
Heating Up: the notes give no new trigger or numbers. The Fire details below come from the earlier client read.
Low spell ranks: the character sheet now says spells cast at ranks far below your level gain less from Spell Damage and trigger talents such as Frostbite less often.
Known issues: Mages who learn Research can be prevented from accessing it. Back-to-back casts, such as two Fireballs, skip the next cast's precast effects and sounds until the first one finishes.
October 8 Beta Build Changes
New early spell ranks increase damage. Blizzard adjusted the base points and points per level of Frostbolt and Fireball ranks 1-5, smoothing growth through rank 6. ranks 1-3 were adjusted for growth through rank 4. Each newly learned rank in those ranges is a damage upgrade.Confirmed, a first-party sourceSource: Blizzard's October 8 beta notes, Classes > Mage, checked Oct 13, 2026.
For leveling, use the new rank after you train it when damage is your goal. This is our leveling advice based on the notes; it is not a measured Mana-efficiency comparison or a best build. Keep the October 1 low-rank proc penalty separate: damage progression does not remove that rule. See the Arcane, Fire, and Frost guides for the relevant spell.
The same update fixes Impact activating from Flamestrike's periodic damage.Confirmed, a first-party sourceSource: Blizzard's October 8 beta notes, Classes > Mage, checked Oct 13, 2026. Our October 8 beta notes summary covers the full update.
October 7 Deep Dive
Blizzard's October 7 deep dive describes Mage changes and confirms Frostfire Bolt is learned at level 40.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.
| Change | As Blizzard describes it | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Frostfire Bolt | Level 40; Fire and Frost; 3-second cast; upfront damage, DoT, and slow | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Comprehension | Scroll-reading tradeskill; Comprehend Scroll is in the spellbook's General tab | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Cone of Cold | Duration decreased; Blizzard gives no new number | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Mage Armor | Spirit-based Mana regeneration bonus increased | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| , 11-point | October 7: 2.5-second cast; raises Mana cost and boosts other spell damage; 4 stacks. October 15: 1.5-second cast, stacks last 15 seconds | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Arcane. |
| Missile Barrage, 16-point | October 7: free Arcane Missiles channel twice as fast; Arcane Blast proc chance doubles. October 15: first row, 2 points | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Arcane. |
| Heating Up | Row 4; Pyroblast cast time falls 25% per stack, up to three | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Ignite | Unique debuff per Mage; closely timed crits no longer lose damage | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Ice Lance, 11-point | Instant; deals 300% more damage against Frozen targets; October 15: 200% | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Frost. |
| Fingers of Frost | Row 5; requires Ice Lance; charges let spells treat targets as Frozen | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Ice Block and Cold Snap | Ice Block: 16-point. Cold Snap: 21-point, 10-minute cooldown | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Improved Blizzard | Maximum movement slow is 40%, down from 65% | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
Talent Moves and Point Costs
- Wand Specialization now requires two talent points.
- Arcane Subtlety moves from row 1 to row 2.
- Arcane Resilience shifts to row 2 and costs two points.
- Arcane Geometry is new on row 3.
- Improved Arcane Missiles becomes Improved Channeling.
- Improved Arcane Explosion becomes Arcane Impact.
- Improved Mana Shield becomes Arcane Shielding.
- is renamed from Improved Fire Blast and moves from row 2 to row 1; the October 15 notes revert it to Improved Fire Blast.
- Incinerate becomes Incineration on row 1 (from row 3).
- Burning Soul costs three points for the same effect.
- Frost Channeling moves from row 4 to row 3.
- Ice Block moves from row 5 to row 4.
- Cold Snap moves from row 3 to row 5.
- stacks last 8 seconds or until you cast another spell; the October 15 notes make them last 15 seconds from first application.
- Improved Fireball also shortens Frostfire Bolt's cast.
Blizzard lists these changes in the October 7 Mage deep dive.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.
Frostfire Bolt counts as Fire and Frost. Most talents for either school apply; it uses the Mage's higher school spell-damage bonus and the target's lower resistance.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.
Blizzard's Mage and Shaman deep dive
For example, one hybrid build is to take both the Ignite and Ice Shards talents...Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.
With both talents, Blizzard says Frostfire Bolt critical strikes deal 200%, then add Ignite damage equal to 40% of that, for 280% total.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.

Blizzard's October 1 beta notes set the current cap at 30, so level 40 Frostfire Bolt cannot be tested in the beta.Blizzard: WoW Forever Beta Development Notes, October 1, checked Oct 8, 2026.
What Is Still Unknown
Blizzard gives one hybrid example, but no recommended build, rotation or final talent values.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.
- Full spell list and tuning.
- Recommended build and rotation.
- How Mages learn .
- Orc Mage timing.
- Racial durations and cooldowns.
- Final talent values and layout at launch.
- Talent rank scaling.
- Which demo talents carry into the beta build.
The September 24 and October 1 notes change only a few Fire, Frost and Arcane values. October 8 adds the early-rank Frostbolt, Fireball and Arcane Missiles damage corrections above. Blizzard announced Orc Mage, but the recap doesn't say whether it is in the beta or arrives at launch. Blizzard's September 22 text names every Mage race's racials, including High Order Skyborne's Read Ley Line, but gives few numbers.
Blizzard publishes no Mage leveling route. RestedXP for WoW Forever sells a guide with class-specific routes, still in progress, and Zygor's Forever guides are planned for launch.Source: Zygor's Forever announcement, checked Sep 28, 2026.
Mage Availability
Human, Gnome, High Order Skyborne, Orc, Troll and Forsaken can play Mage; Windshaper Skyborne get Shaman instead. Blizzard's September 22 tables settle every row. The race hub has the full race and class matrix.
| Race | Evidence | Status |
|---|---|---|
| High Order Skyborne (Alliance) | Blizzard's Alliance table and Skyborne article assign Mage | Confirmed |
| Windshaper Skyborne (Horde) | Blizzard assigns Shaman, not Mage | Confirmed |
| Human, Gnome, Forsaken, Troll | Original Mage races, all in Blizzard's September 22 tables | Confirmed |
| Orc | New. Named in the Deep Dive recap and September 22 table | Confirmed |

Early Player Reads and Community Impressions
Full talent trees and spell numbers are still open, making early community reactions to Mage a sign of interest, not a tier ranking. In community analysis, Khalma says Mage looks wild in early play reads. Blizzard's Deep Dive panel recap backs up several mechanical changes for casters: crowd control (Polymorph), unified hit and crit ratings, and spell power on caster weapons starting at level 10.
What the Client Read Shows About the Mage Trees
In the client read, only five of the 54 Mage talents are new, the fewest of any class in the read. A community read of beta client build 1.60.1.70009 lists 54 Mage talents: 18 Arcane, 17 Fire and 19 Frost.Source: WoW Forever Talents, Mage tree, checked Sep 28, 2026. Of those, 16 match Classic Era once capitalization is ignored. Everything in this section is reported, not Blizzard-published. Each tree page has every rank.

Arcane: Arcane Blast and Missile Barrage
In the September 14 demo client read, Arcane Blast stacks raise your other spells' damage at a rising Mana cost, and Missile Barrage can make your next Arcane Missiles free and twice as fast. These observations describe demo gameplay, not an independently tested beta rotation.
Blizzard's September 13 Creator Showcase remains a planned preview, not beta gameplay; that showcase does not verify which demo talents are in the current client.Source: BlizzCon 2026 Creator Showcase, published Sep 13, 2026; preview material, not beta verification.Esfand: A Deep Dive Into the New Mage Rework in WoW Forever, Arcane tooltip at 1:58, published Sep 14, 2026.
Arcane gets on the 11-point row: a 2.5 second cast for 57 to 66 Arcane damage. Each cast raises the damage of your other spells by 10% and Arcane Blast's own Mana cost by 175%, stacking four times for 8 seconds or until another damage spell lands.
Blizzard's October 7 description says Arcane Blast stacks last 8 seconds or until any other spell is cast. These dated descriptions differ on the reset trigger.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. Blizzard's October 15 redesign replaces both: a 1.5 second cast, each stack adds 15% of your Intellect as Spell Damage, and the four stacks last 15 seconds from the first cast. Damage and Spell Damage coefficients drop 40%; Mana cost is unchanged.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Arcane.
, on the 16-point row until October 15, can make your next free, twice as fast and half as long. Arcane Blast has a 40% chance to trigger it, and , and have a 20% chance. Blizzard's October 15 notes move it to the first row as a 2-point talent, let Arcane Missiles hits trigger it, and add Arcane Wrath at 16 points.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Arcane. Presence of Mind is unchanged, and Arcane Power still gives 30% more damage for 30% more Mana over 15 seconds.
Fire: Heating Up and a Weaker Pyroblast
In the client read, Heating Up turns Fireball, Frostfire Bolt, Fire Blast and Scorch critical strikes into faster Pyroblast casts, but Pyroblast's rank 1 is weaker than Classic's. Fire has one new talent, Heating Up. In the client read it requires : non-periodic critical strikes from Fireball, Frostfire Bolt, Fire Blast and Scorch cut Pyroblast's cast time by 25%, stacking three times. Blizzard's September 24 notes raised the buff's duration to 20 seconds.
Pyroblast's rank 1 is weaker than Classic's: 100 to 132 damage plus 44 over 12 seconds, against 149 to 195 plus 56. The client read had lasting until 4 non-periodic Fire critical strikes instead of 3. Blizzard's October 1 notes return it to 3 charges. Blast Wave hits for slightly less, 153 to 185, and now spells out a 50% movement slow. Esfand's demo walkthrough shows Master of Elements refunding mana on Fire and Frost crits.
Frost: Ice Lance and Fingers of Frost
In the client read, Frost rewards Frozen targets: Ice Lance deals 300% more to them, and Fingers of Frost can make your next 2 spells treat the target as Frozen. Frost gets on the 11-point row: an instant 28 to 33 Frost damage that deals 300% more to Frozen targets. The October 15 notes cut that bonus to 200% (was 300%).Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Frost. , which requires Ice Lance, gives Chill effects up to a 15% chance to treat your next 2 spells as if the target were Frozen.
The October 15 notes add Frost Blast, learned at level 24: a 1.5-second cast that deals damage, slows movement by 40% and benefits from Frostbolt talents. Blizzard says it gives Rank 1 Frostbolt's role without the down-ranking penalty, at a higher Mana cost.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage.
In the client read, raised only Ice Lance and Frostbolt critical chance, not every Frost spell. Blizzard's October 15 notes redesign it around Cone of Cold and give two conflicting formulas. One gives 40% more Cone of Cold damage per stack, consumed by the next Cone of Cold. The other gives Frostbolt, Frost Blast and Fingers of Frost empowered Ice Lance a chance to apply stacks that raise damage taken from your next Cone of Cold by 5% plus 7% of spell damage, up to 5.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Mage > Frost.
Ice Barrier, still the 31-point capstone, absorbs 448 damage, against Classic's 455, and now also stops pushback while it holds. resets your other Frost cooldowns on a 10 minute timer.
Two talents name Frostfire Bolt. Blizzard's October 7 deep dive confirms it is learned at level 40, but does not name a trainer, book or quest.Blizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026.
Milestones in All Three Trees
In the client read, every Mage tree puts single-rank talents on the 11, 16, 21 and 31 point milestone rows. Blizzard's recap keeps one-point milestone talents at 11, 21 and 31 points and adds one at 16.
- Arcane: Arcane Blast, Missile Barrage, Presence of Mind, Arcane Power.
- Fire: Pyroblast, Heating Up, Blast Wave, Combustion.
- Frost: Ice Lance, , Cold Snap, Ice Barrier.
Each list runs 11, 16, 21 and 31 points. The capstones chain back: Arcane Power needs Presence of Mind, Combustion needs 3 points in Critical Mass, and Ice Barrier needs Cold Snap.
Racials for a Mana Class
Troll and Orc racials give timed casting speed or Spell Power, and the other four Mage races help with Mana. Mage is open to Human, Gnome and High Order Skyborne on Alliance, and Orc, Troll and Forsaken on Horde.Source: Create the Hero You Want to Be in World of Warcraft: Forever, checked Sep 28, 2026. Confirmed. The choice of racials below is our read of which published effects touch Mana or casting.
Damage and Casting Speed
Troll and Orc Mages get timed bonuses you can line up with or . Troll Berserking adds 10% casting speed for 10 seconds. Orc Blood Fury adds 10% Spell Power for 15 seconds, and Orc Mage is new in Forever.

Mana
Forsaken, Gnome and High Order Skyborne racials restore, expand or regenerate Mana. Blizzard's recap says Cannibalize now restores Mana as well as Health, "increasing its usefulness for mana-using classes such as Mages."Blizzard: World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive Panel Recap, checked Sep 28, 2026.
Forsaken Cannibalize restores 35% of both over time.
Gnome Expansive Mind adds 5% maximum Mana. The October 15 notes make Eureka! an 8-second buff with no charges, retaining the preceding build's damage and ability-cost effect and adding Power Word: Shield. The note does not restate numeric magnitudes. Human The Human Spirit adds 5% Spirit, and High Order Skyborne Read Ley Line activates a ley line for increased Health and Mana regeneration.Sources: Blizzard, September 22 racial list for unchanged baseline effects; October 15 beta development notes, post 6, for the stated changes; retained capture Oct 18, 2026. Official wording; realm behavior not tested.
Leveling and Group Play
October 8 makes new Frostbolt, Fireball and Arcane Missiles ranks damage upgrades across the early ranges listed above.Confirmed, a first-party sourceSource: Blizzard's October 8 beta notes, Classes > Mage, checked Oct 13, 2026.
Train your damage ranks as you level. Our leveling advice is to use the rank you have trained when damage is your goal. A low-rank quick slow remains a separate choice with its own proc penalty.
Weapons and Wands
Blizzard says spellcaster weapons now grant spell damage, but wands no longer gain damage from your spell damage. The recap says spellcaster weapons now grant spell damage and healing, so Mages "can look forward to level-up weapons"
as melee classes do.Blizzard: World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive Panel Recap, checked Sep 15, 2026. Wands went the other way in the September 24 notes. still reaches 25% at two ranks.
The October 15 notes make wands require you to stand still for 0.5 seconds before shooting, matching early versions of World of Warcraft.Source: October 15 beta notes, post 6, Classes.
Crowd Control
Plan to Polymorph in dungeons: the team says tanks hold threat on only three or four targets. On the Deep Dive stream, the team said dungeons need you to "polymorph, banish, root, trap monsters to keep control,"
because tanks hold threat on only three or four targets.Blizzard: Deep Dive stream, 53:06, checked Sep 28, 2026. The written recap lists first among tools that "continue to have a place."Blizzard: World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive Panel Recap, checked Sep 15, 2026.
Polymorph is the Mage's job in that plan, and Frostbite's 15% freeze chance on Chill effects adds more control.
For routes, the Mage leveling guide covers what is published about the climb, including conjured food and water. To follow a route instead, compare the two leveling addons in Zygor vs RestedXP.
Mage FAQ
| Question | Answer | Status |
|---|---|---|
| What is the best WoW Forever Mage build? | Blizzard gives one hybrid example, not a recommended best build | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Is there a WoW Forever Mage rotation? | No rotation is published; October 7 describes selected changes, not full tuning | Not announcedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |
| Can I plan WoW Forever Mage talents? | Yes. The demo tree layout and fan calculators are both reported, not final | Reported |
| Is Orc Mage announced in WoW Forever? | Yes. Blizzard's Deep Dive recap and September 22 table name Orc Mage. | Confirmed |
| When do Mages learn ? | Level 40, per Blizzard's October 7 deep dive. The beta cap is 30.Blizzard: October 1 beta notes, checked Oct 8, 2026. | ConfirmedBlizzard: Mage and Shaman deep dive, checked Oct 8, 2026. |

































